Deactivate Automated and/or Message Center Custom Templates if you do not want them in use, or reactivate them if you want to use them again. Use the same procedures for both types of templates.
To deactivate a Message Center Template:
- Click on the “Message Center” tab on the vertical Dashboard menu at the left side of the screen.
- Click on the “Templates” tab.
- In the “TEMPLATES” window that opens, click on either the “Automated” or the “Custom” tab below the name of the window.
- Locate the listing for the message you want to deactivate. (For information on how to use the template search tools, see the “Search for Specific Message Center Template(s)” topic in these instructions.)
- In the “Actions” column, click on the three-dots menu to open it. (On smaller device screens, click on the blue-circled plus sign to the left of the “Name” of the template listing to access the three-dots menu.)
- Click on the “Deactivate” option in the three-dots menu.
- In the “DEACTIVATE TEMPLATE?” window that opens, click on the “Deactivate” button to make the template inactive.
- To close the “DEACTIVATE TEMPLATE?” window without deactivating a template, click on the “Cancel” button, press the “Esc” key, or click on the “X” in the top right corner of the window.
- NOTE: If the message template already is inactive, the “Deactivate” option is replaced with the “Reactivate” option in the three-dots menu.
Important notes about template deactivation
- Template deactivation is a very powerful feature with important consequences for website, Member Portal, and mobile app operations. For that reason, do not deactivate a template that is required for other operations unless you are sure that you do not need to perform those operations. Examples:
- If you deactivate a template for messages that send out invoices, the system cannot and will not send out invoices, regardless of whether invoices are scheduled to go out based on how you have set up Dues and Fees or one-off Wallet invoices. Note that Dues and Fees uses a different template to send invoices than one-off Wallet invoices use.
- If you deactivate the template for messages that notify prospective Members that they have been accepted or rejected for Membership, the system cannot and will not notify them of their application status.
- If you deactivate the template for messages that send out invoice-due reminders, the system cannot and will not send out these reminders.
- If you deactivate the template for messages that send out reminders about late, unpaid invoices, the system cannot and will not send out these reminders.
- If you deactivate the template for messages that send out password resets or confirmations, the system cannot and will not send out password resets.
- In short, the Message Center gives you extraordinary power over how your software behaves. Before you change the status of Automated Templates, simply ensure that you understand which operations they control.
- Click on the “Message Center” tab on the vertical Dashboard menu at the left side of the screen.
- Click on the “Templates” tab.
- In the “TEMPLATES” window that opens, click on either the “Automated” or the “Custom” tab below the name of the window.
- In the “Automated” tab, deactivated templates always are visible.
- In the “Custom” tab, activate the “Show Inactive” toggle switch to view inactive templates.
- Both types of templates feature a gray background behind the overall listing.
- Locate the listing for the message you want to reactivate. (For information on how to use the template search tools, see the “Search for Specific Message Center Template(s)” topic in these instructions.)
- In the “Actions” column, click on the three-dots menu to open it. (On smaller device screens, click on the blue-circled plus sign to the left of the “Name” of the template listing to access the three-dots menu.)
- Click on the “Reactivate” option in the three-dots menu.
- In the “REACTIVATE TEMPLATE?” window that opens, click on the “Reactivate” button to make the template inactive.
- To close the “REACTIVATE TEMPLATE?” window without reactivating a template, click on the “Cancel” button, press the “Esc” key, or click on the “X” in the top right corner of the window.
- NOTE: If the message template already is active, the “Reactivate” option is replaced with the “Deactivate” option in the three-dots menu.